DIY Chalkboard

​When we moved in to our new apartment, I was really excited about one thing in particular. We have a PANTRY!! An honest to goodness, walk-in pantry! After the super limited cabinet and storage space at our old place, having a real pantry was like Christmas in July. 

When I saw the pantry, I knew the door would be the perfect place for a chalkboard so I looked around at a few places. Well let me be the one to say it, chalkboards are a little more expensive than I remember! I really only saw one that I liked and that was the right size, and it was $60! That’s right, SIXTY DOLLARS!! I just couldn’t spend that much on a chalkboard. 

I already had chalkboard paint, so I just figured I would make one! I checked out a few thrift stores and found this great framed print that was the perfect size for only $4! 

I went to Home Depot and bought Rustoleum Paint + Primer in glossy warm yellow to match my kitchen, chalkboard spray paint (just easier than the brush on paint i had), and a plastic tarp for a total of $9. 

If you can, remove the glass from the frame and paint the frame with the color of your choice. Do 2-3 coats, letting it dry in between each coat. Paint the glass with the chalkboard paint the same way, with 3-4 coats. 

With my print, the frame didn’t come apart from the glass. So I just taped off the glass and painted the frame first, then taped off the frame and painted the glass. It took a little longer, but the same result. 

I was so excited to pul all the tape off and see how it turned on. And boy was I not disappointed! It turned out perfect! Here it is after my sweet man hung it up for me.

We just used the little clear plastic mounts like you would use to hang a full length mirror. They were only about $2 at Walmart. For the entire project I only spent $15! Not too, shabby huh 😊

I tried hand lettering it with regular chalk, and while it turned out “ok”, I couldn’t get clean sharp edges. I’ll definitely be buying some chalk markers. But here it is for now! 

This weekend I’ll be decorating for fall, and I couldn’t be more excited. Fall is my favorite time of year! Pumpkin patches, football, Halloween, Thanksgiving, cooler weather, does it get any better? Nope! I’ll be posting a few fall themed DIYs over the next few months, so stay tuned! 

God bless and have a wonderful week! 

Leave a Reply

